How to Delete Twitter Account?

delete-twitter-account

If you are not finding the Twitter to be as exciting as you expected it to be, you can anytime deactivate your account. However, if you are facing some trouble with your Twitter accounts such as incorrect follower or following counts, suspicious Direct Messages, potential account compromise, or missing tweets, deactivating and reactivating your account will not solve the problem. In such case, you will need to contact Twitter Support.

Nevertheless, if you have decided to do away with Twitter, you can delete your Twitter account permanently by following the step-by-step instructions provided below.

Steps to Delete Twitter Account Permanently

Before deleting your Twitter account permanently, make sure of the following:

  • If you wish to use the username or email address for another Twitter account, make sure to first change it and then confirm the change before deactivating your account.
  • Even after deleting your Twitter account, search engines like Bing or Google may still have some account information available with them.
  • If you wish to download your Twitter data, you will need to complete both the request and download process prior to deactivation. Links to download your Twitter data will only be sent to the active

Once you have considered the above-mentioned points, you can follow these steps to delete your account.

1.) Sign into your Twitter account which you wish to delete.

2.) Once you are logged into your Twitter account, click on your Profile Picture located at the top-right corner of your account’s page. This will open a drop-down menu.

3.) From the drop-down menu that appears on your screen, click on the Settings and privacy option. You will be directed to the Settings and privacy page.

4.) On this page, you will need to scroll down to the bottom of the page. Once you are on the bottom of the page, you will the option to deactivate your Twitter account.

5.) Click on the Deactivate your account option. You will be directed to the confirmation page. On this page, click on the Deactivate button (after reading the information provided on the page).

6.) On the next screen, you will be prompted to enter your Twitter account password. Enter your password in the prompted field and click on the Deactivate account button. Your account will get deactivated.

NOTE: if you don’t remember your password, you will need to click on the “Forgot your password?” option. Follow the steps to reset your password and then continue with the process of your Twitter account deletion.

Now, to delete your Twitter account permanently, you don’t need to do anything. After a period of 30 days, your account will get deleted forever automatically. However, if you decide to change your mind and wish to activate your account back, you can do so easily by simply signing into your account within a period of 30 days from the deactivation. In no way, you will be able to recover your Twitter account once it crosses this time period.

Share